Australia announce 14-man squad for ODI series against India


Share this

Veteran seamer Peter Siddle was included into Australia’s redone 14-part squad for the three-coordinate ODI arrangement against India beginning here on January 12.

The 34-year-old pacer on Friday made a rebound to the ODI squad out of the blue since 2010, while Usman Khawaja and Nathan Lyon were likewise reviewed to the group, driven by Aaron Finch.

Off-spinner Lyon had missed the ODI arrangement against South Africa at home prior in the season, while Khawaja too is making the ODI squad after right around two years.

Mitchell Marsh and attendant Alex Carey will be the two bad habit commanders with regards to Cricket Australia’s new arrangement after the ball-altering adventure.

The trio of Mitchell Starc, Josh Hazlewood and Pat Cummins, in any case, have been refreshed remembering the Test arrangement against Sri Lanka.

Batsmen Travis Head, Darcy Short and Chris Lynn have been forgotten attributable to late poor frame in ODIs, while quick bowler Nathan Coulter-Nile has been refreshed inferable from lower back issues.

Australia’s determination board executive Trevor Hohns said the choice to redo the squad was taken because of the group’s poor show against South Africa and furthermore remembering the World Cup.

“In light of this and the World Cup approaching, we’ve chosen players we feel furnish us with the adaptability to assume an assortment of jobs at various phases of a match,” he said.

“The forthcoming three-coordinate arrangement against India and the ODI voyages through India and the UAE are essential windows to incorporate this and to fabricate a squad to help shield our World Cup title.”

The other two matches of the three-ODI arrangement will be played in Adelaide (on January 15) and Melbourne (January 18).

Squad: Aaron Finch (C), Usman Khawaja, Shaun Marsh, Peter Handscomb, Glenn Maxwell, Marcus Stoinis, Mitch Marsh, Alex Carey (WK), Jhye Richardson, Billy Stanlake, Jason Behrendorff, Peter Siddle, Nathan Lyon, Adam Zampa.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *